This list and display at the Library was made by summer student Camila Beam in 2018. 

Donations of H. A. Cody books are always gratefully accepted. The books shown in bold print are in our collection.    

 Books by H.A. Cody

  1. An Apostle of the North (1908)
  2. Fighting Stars (1927)
  3. Glen of the High North (1920)
  4. If Any Man Sin (1915)
  5. Jess of the Rebel Trail (1921)
  6. On Trail and Rapid by Dog-Sled & Canoe (1910)
  7. Rod of the Lone Patrol (1916)
  8. Songs of a Bluenose (1925)
  9. Storm King Banner (1937)
  10. The Chief of the Ranges (1913)
  11. The Crimson Sign (1935)
  12. The Fighting Slogan (1926) (this is the only one missing from our collection)
  13. The Fourth Watch (1911)
  14. The Frontiersman (1910)
  15. The Girl at Bullet Lake (1933)
  16. The King’s Arrow (1922)
  17. The Long Patrol (1912)
  18. The Master Revenge (1924)
  19. The Red Ranger (1931)
  20. The River Fury (1930)
  21. The Stumbling Shepard (1929)
  22. The Touch of Abner (1919)
  23. The Trail of the Golden Horn (1923)
  24. The Unknown Wrestler (1918)
  25. Under Sealed Orders (1917)

Kevin Crannie lived in Codys years ago.  He is responsible for this beautiful website:   The following information is from that website.

H.A Cody – A Queen’s County Author

Hiram Alfred (H.A.) Cody, a clergyman and novelist who was born in Codys, New Brunswick  July 3rd, 1872 and died in Saint John, New Brunswick   February 9th,  1948. Born in Codys, New Brunswick, a town named after his family, H.A. Cody moved to Windsor, Nova Scotia to study at KING'S COLLEGE. After graduation, Cody was ordained as an ANGLICAN minister on December 20th,  1896. His first assignment was as rector of the parish of Greenwich in his home province. A few years later, Cody travelled to Whitehorse to do missionary work. He arrived in 1904, and stayed for five years. While there Cody began to keep extensive journals about his experiences. He served in the ministry for 43 years, and compiled a total of 43 journals. Though he had written short stories in his younger years, Cody's focus on fiction came later in his life. H.A. Cody published 25 books, in addition to several poems and newspaper articles. In 1927 he was appointed Archdeacon of Saint John; he served there until his retirement in 1943. While more commonly recognized for his work in the ministry than for his writing, H.A. Cody was one of Canada's most widely read authors. His publications, like those of the bestselling Ralph Connor, were amongst the first to be mass-produced in North America due to their accessible prose, Christian themes and appeal to a broad audience.

 Some of his more famous novels include The Frontiersman: A Tale of the Yukon (1910), The Long Patrol: A Tale of the Mounted Police (1912) and The King's Arrow: A Tale of the United Empire Loyalists (1922). Most of Cody's novels adhered to the conventions of the adventure genre. He often included romantic sub-plots in an effort to expand his readership beyond men. His faith played an important part in his novels, which always included a Christian message. While H.A. Cody is not considered a pioneer of Canadian literature, his novels deftly capture the interests and spirit of the age in which he lived and wrote.